ROTY Logo with TowneBank logoWhat an ‘out of this world’ night we had for our 11th Retailer of the Year awards!

200 guests joined us at the Virginia Air & Space Center in Hampton on May 24, 2018 to celebrate the best of retail, service and restaurants throughout Hampton Roads.

Guests indulged in the delicacies provided by General Meals and mingled with fellow guests in the exhibition area while enjoying the beautiful sounds of Glen Boswick Orchestras.

Once we moved into the IMAX theater, the more formal part of the evening commenced with Vice Mayor of Hampton, Linda Curtis, opening the awards element of the event.

Following the Vice Mayor, the ROTY awards were underway, graciously hosted by Cheryl Tan, co-host of Connect on 13 News Now and owner of Cheryl Tan Media.

Thank you to Virginia Peninsula Photography for capturing the wonderful memories from the night, and also East Carolina Creative, for creating the motion picture quality videos and visuals shown at the event.

Once again our sponsors have stepped up to help us put on this event. TowneBank was our presenting sponsor and we were honored to have Morgan Davis, President and CEO of TowneBank, present the final award to our Overall Winner, Curvaceous Boutique.

Thank you to all our sponsors. Without you, this event would not have become a reality.

Celestial Presenting Sponsor

  • TowneBank

Galaxy Lifetime Achievement Award Sponsor

  • MacArthur Center

Shining Star Retail Alliance Foundation Sponsor

  • Capital Group

Shooting Star Sponsors

  • Care A Lot Pet Supply
  • Sonabank
  • Tidewater Finance

LOVEVA Award Sponsor


Lunar Sponsors

  • Cavanaugh & Nelson
  • Decorum Furniture
  • Garden Gazebo
  • Philip Michael Fashion for Men
  • The Royal Chocolate
  • Venture Kitchen & Bar
  • Virginia Community Capital
  • Wilcox & Savage

Cosmic Sponsors

  • Clothes Mentor Newport News
  • Douglas Aquatics
  • Once Upon A Child Newport News
  • Prince Books
  • Shop Talk with Margie Johnson
  • Taylor’s Do-It Center

Comet Leadership Circle

  • Debbie Ross, Lynnhaven Mall
  • John Small, Small’s Smokehouse & Oyster Bar

Our Membership Committee Chair, Debbie Ross of Lynnhaven Mall, has provided guidance and support throughout the planning and execution of this event. We very much appreciate the hard work she’s put in to help us make this successful.

Finally, thank you to the staff at Retail Alliance. In particular, Kylie Ross Sibert and Alexandra Walker, who did an amazing job at pulling off a remarkable event, with the help of the whole Retail Alliance team.

The Retailer of the Year event is always a night of good fun, celebration and camaraderie. Please congratulate our winners the next time you see them at their store or at one of our events. And congratulations to all our nominees. You all reach for the stars every day!


Ray Mattes
President/CEO Retail Alliance